Skip to content

Time out with JMU’s Angela Mickens

Mar 13, 2015, 2:57 PM EDT

She’s one of 15 finalists for the Lieberman Award, given to the top point guard in the country. She’s also JMU’s new leader in single-season assists, having amassed 226 in 2014-15. The kid they call Muff took a few minutes to chat with us. Meet JMU redshirt junior Angela Mickens.

Why Muff?

“When I was a baby and came out my mom called me Muff because she thought I had fat cheeks.”

Take us inside something fun these Dukes have done off the court.

“I loved our Secret Santa Christmas. I had Candice (Williams) and Carley (Brew) had me. Carley made me Greek letters — DST — because I’m in a sorority Delta Sigma Theta. And she gave me a picture frame.”

The tattoo on your left shoulder?

“It’s a diabetes ribbon for my mom.”

Anything behind your No. 32?

“My brothers, Eric and Terrell, each wore it in high school. And I kept it going.”

What do you enjoy about point guard?

“It’s always been my role. I’ve always wanted the ball in my hands.”

Your major is biology? What do you want to do?

“I want to go back to school for social work, and I want to be a child counselor. I love to work with children. The world is all about the children.”

 

 

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

The final day for our #CAASports Social Showdown focuses on @william_and_mary @tribeathletics! The CAA Social Showdown continues and yep you guessed it we are featuring @tutigers @towsonuniversity today! Recognize that skyline? Today we are shipping up to Boston for a full day of all things @gonuathletics and @northeastern! Hello Wilmington (no filter by the way)! Today it's all about @uncwathletics on the CAASports Social handles. Check them out for more on the Seahawks