Skip to content

DI Cabinet Shifts Dates of NCAA WBB Tourament

Feb 14, 2014, 10:30 AM EDT

In past months, the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee recommended changes based on feedback from fans about the postseason tournament. One of the main topics of focus became the fans’ displeasure of having to attend games on week nights. The committee recommended a change in play dates for the NCAA DI WBB Tournament, which the NCAA DI Cabinet approved on Tuesday, Feb. 11.

Beginning in 2015, the preliminary rounds of the DI WBB Championship will take place on a Friday through Monday schedule. Currently the schedule runs Saturday through Tuesday. Cabinet members also approved a similar schedule change for the Women’s Final Four, which will move to a Friday-Sunday pattern in 2017.

Committee and cabinet members believe the changes will increase attendance, improving the championship experience for participating student-athletes.

The CAA women’s basketball tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

To read the entire article, visit

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

👏👏 to @gonumbasketball Coach Bill Coen for being named National Association of Basketball Coaches District 10 Coach of the Year! 
#CAAHoops It’s a @cofcsports SWEEP of the #CAASports Golfers of the Week Honors! 👏 to Reed Bentley and Isi Nilsson Can’t end Tuesday without some respect to our weekly 🎾 award winners 🤝. @uncw_mens_tennis Ignasi de Rueda & @cofcwomenstennis’ Anastasia Palaska grabbed the top singles honors! #CAASports Announcing our first weekly T&F Awards of 2018! 💪🔨throw performances = @wmtribexctf’s Tom Parker and Leia Mistowski as the first honorees. @gonutrack’s Donatien Djero + @cofc_tfxc’s Marissa Linkous were the 💨 winners. #CAASports