Skip to content

Chatting with Drexel’s Hollie Mershon

Mar 17, 2013, 11:01 AM EDT

Drexel senior guard Hollie Mershon has put together a sensational season, which includes first-team All-CAA honors. The Dragons No. 11 shared a few thoughts with the CAA about herself and her  Dragons, who are back in the CAA championship game for the second year in a row. Drexel meets Delaware at 2 p.m. Sunday at the Show Place Arena in Upper Marlboro, Md.

On the Dragons: “I don’t want to take away from our athleticism. But we’re not the fastest. We’re definitely not the tallest or the longest. But we play so well together. The difference from this team and teams from the last three years I’ve been on is we give each other so much confidence. I’m out there. I’m telling Meghan Creighton to shoot the ball when she’s open. Fiona Flanagan. It can’t just be me. If I’m the only one shooting the ball, we’re not going to win. I think we all believe in one another.”

On togetherness: “We do everything. We eat together. We go to the movies together. We really enjoy each other’s company.”

On the movie the team watches again and again: “Pitch Perfect”

Best cheesesteak in Philly: “I love Pat’s Steaks. I’m a Pat’s girl. That’s how my family raised me.”

On life prior to basketball: “I was a soccer player for the longest time. Quit in eighth grade. I thought that was what I was going to do in college. My Pop Pop (grandfather) introduced me to basketball.”

On playing with her Archbishop Carroll High School teammates Creighton and Rachel Pearson: “I was a senior when they were freshmen. I was super excited to play with them. They understand my game; I understand theirs. We connect like no other.”

On life after basketball: “I was unable to student in the spring, because it starts Monday, and we’ll still be playing. I decided to finish with a psychology minor. My hope is I continue to play and in the future, I want to go to graduate school for nursing.”

On fun beyond basketball: “I like to go to the Jersey shore. I love going to concerts (just saw Rascal Flatts). I love country music. I love to shop.”

On the best part of being a Dragon: “The friendships I’ve made — the Drexel community. They’re not just within my team, but I can call the whole athletic department my family. The administration to the other sports teams, we’re just all really close and supportive of each other. You can’t really ask for anything better.”

Story behind her green nail polish: “It’s superstitious. Someone told me you shoot better with green nail polish.”

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

The #CAAHoops countdown continues and the plays just keep getting better and better. @gonumbasketball The final day for our #CAASports Social Showdown focuses on @william_and_mary @tribeathletics! The CAA Social Showdown continues and yep you guessed it we are featuring @tutigers @towsonuniversity today! Recognize that skyline? Today we are shipping up to Boston for a full day of all things @gonuathletics and @northeastern!