Skip to content

Chit chat with Hofstra’s Candace Bond

Mar 15, 2013, 5:02 PM EDT

Senior Candace Bond, averaging 7.8 ppg, 5 rpg and 2.6 spg, has been a Pride starter for three years and is this year’s CAA Defensive Player of the Year. Hofstra advanced to Saturday’s 2 p.m. semifinal with a 57-52 win over Northeastern.

Coming from Fort Washington, Md., you’ve got lots of folks here at the Show Place Arena?

“My parents, my grandparents, my siblings. My high school coach is here and a lot kids from my high school.

It must have been great to be named CAA Defensive Player of the Year on Wednesday night.

“Every year except my freshman year, it’s been my goal to be Defensive Player of the Year. I was surprised this year because I wasn’t No. 1 in the conference in steals and I wasn’t No 1 in blocks, and our record wasn’t that great. But when they said my name, it was special.”

On guarding Delaware’s Elena Delle Donne:

“I enjoy guarding Elena. It’s exciting playing against a player who is so great, that high quality of a player. Obviously, I’ve fallen short, but every game I’ve learned and learned. It’s helped me become a better defensive player.”

Would you like to guard Brittney Griner?

“Actually I would. It’s something I could tell my kids about.”

Are you savoring every moment of your final CAA Tournament?

“It’s bittersweet. It’s been an exciting four years, especially playing with Shinto Evans, and wow, to know this could have been my last game. I’m glad it’s not.”

Off the court, what do you enjoy?

“My most favorite thing to do is go to (Hofstra) volleyball games. They won a championship this year. Our teams are like sisters. They tell us, ‘We won a championship, so you have to win a championship.’ That’s what we’re playing for.”

 

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

Even more ways to watch CAA.tv this year! Make sure you download the CAA channel on Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, and Android TV! @cofcvolleyball picked as #CAASports Preseason favorites. @towsontigersvb's Jocelyn Kuilan named preseason Player of the Year. 🏐 When you find out your #squad is the CAA Preseason favorites. @wmtribemsoccer & Antonio Bustamante ⬆ headline the honors. @udbluehens and Greta Nauck highlight the #CAASports Preseason Field Hockey honors!