Skip to content

Postseason Here We Come– Six CAA Teams Advance

Mar 13, 2012, 3:27 PM EST

The Colonial Athletic Association champion Delaware was selected as the three-seed in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament. Delaware captured its first CAA crown on Sunday to earn the conference’s automatic bid, while Drexel, Hofstra, James Madison, UNCW, and VCU have been selected for the Women’s National Invitation Tournament.

For the seventh consecutive season at least three CAA teams advanced to the postseason and for third straight year at least six teams advanced to the postseason. It’s also the 12th consecutive season the CAA will have a representative in the WNIT, as the CAA is just one of three conferences to see five teams in the postseason tournament.  The Pac-12 and Atlantic 10 also saw five conference teams advance to the postseason event.

full release on

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

Congrats to @towson_mbb! The Tigers won the Gulf Coast Showcase last night! 🏀🏀🏀 Eli Pemberton and Jarvis Doles pick up #CAAHoops Weekly Honors! Handing out 🏀Player of the Week honors to @delawarewbb's Nicole Enabosi and @gonuwbasketball's Gabby Giacone. Huskies' freshman Stella Clark is ROTW. Never want the postseason to end, but proud of the way @uncw_menssoccer repped  #CAASports in the #NCAASoccer Championship. 📸 Joe Browning