Skip to content

Getting to know JMU’s Kirby Burkholder

Mar 10, 2012, 12:45 AM EDT

JMU’s Kirby Burkholder has to be the most improved player in the CAA. As a freshman she scored 31 points, a number she surpassed 13 seconds into the Dukes third game of the season. The third-team All-CAA guard  averaged 10.5 ppg and 6.9 rpg this season.

Talk about the transformation.

“It was tough last year. I was a freshman and I had an injury (shin splints). … I struggled to make the adjustment to the college game. I just worked really hard in the offseason.”

Legend has it coach Kenny Brooks made you into a 3-point shooter. True?

“I never was a shooter. In high school I played the post. One day last season he saw me shooting in the gym. He told to keep shooting. I had never had anyone work with me on my shot or anything.”

You knew Kenny before you came to JMU, correct?

“I’m really good friends with his niece, so I knew him when I was growing up.”

You also like?

“Softball. I played in high school.”

And you’re a reader?

“I like Jodi Picault and Nicholas Sparks.”

How does this JMU team stay so loose?

“This team is hilarious. We always play this game called Mafia.”

Who’s the most competitive?

“Tarik. She competitive no matter what we do.”

About CAA Baseline Buzz

Welcome to CAA Baseline Buzz, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Women's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Women's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter

#CAASports on Instagram

The final day for our #CAASports Social Showdown focuses on @william_and_mary @tribeathletics! The CAA Social Showdown continues and yep you guessed it we are featuring @tutigers @towsonuniversity today! Recognize that skyline? Today we are shipping up to Boston for a full day of all things @gonuathletics and @northeastern! Hello Wilmington (no filter by the way)! Today it's all about @uncwathletics on the CAASports Social handles. Check them out for more on the Seahawks